12th edition of the Foundation’s concert. Year 2004

Saturday 8 May at 10 p.m.

Teatre Jardí, Figueres


First Part

Carmen, suite no. 1, by Georges Bizet

Follia daliniana, by Xavier Montsalvatge. Sinfonietta for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, string orchestra and percussion

Second Part

Suite empordanesa, by Juli Garreta

Intrada sobre el nom de Dalí, by Benet Casablancas

This work by Benet Casablancas had its first performance as the introduction to the Centennial Concert. It was written for symphony orchestra specially for this occasion and dedicated to Antoni Ros Marbà. The work focuses entirely and strictly on the notes D, A and B, whose note-names under the latin notation system together form the artist's surname, thus rendering him homage. With a formal design that is extremely concise and filled with vibrant and varied expression, the work is dominated by exultant fanfares that frame lyrical passages and a central fugato scherzando.

View all concerts

2004 programme 2004 programme